One Week Until the Draft: What the Hell is Chip Going to Do?

Embed from Getty Images

The answer? No idea. The Eagles definitely need to nail this first round pick next week, especially following the debacle of Marcus Smith last year. Could Chip trade everybody on the roster for Marcus Mariota? Sure! Could he sit back and play it safe and draft a wide receiver or corner? BOOOOOORING, but yeah, he could do that. Could he trade out of the first round entirely and draft some Division II quarterback from Illinois State? You betcha! Note; I’m not sure if Illinois State is a DII school or not, but you get the point of the hypothetical right??

I have no idea what the hell’s gonna happen next week. What do I want to happen? There’s really only two options. First, trade for Marcus Mariota. The Eagles finally find their franchise quarterback in the Heisman Trophy winner and perfect human being (according to most people who’ve ever stepped within five feet of the guy). I would give up a lot for Mariota, obviously. Two firsts, two seconds(assuming they recoup the one they give away in the Foles deal), a third, a few future mid-round picks, Mychal Kendricks and another player or two, but no Fletcher Cox thats where I draw the line. And I like Mychal Kendricks, but with Ryans resigning and Kiko Alonso’s arrival, it doesn’t look good for his return.

As much as I want Mariota in an Eagles uniform next year, it seems unlikely, and there’s probably some dark horse team out there who nobody is talking about right now who will swoop in and select him. That leaves option two. Stay and select the best player at 20 or move up a few spots if you have to and take the best player available (BPA). I think the Eagles got outmaneuvered last year and thus settled to move back and take Smith when their top options were gone. Give me an offensive lineman, wide receiver or defensive back with the first pick and I’ll be satisfied.

I think we can also expect multiple trades. The Eagles are usually pretty frisky on draft day, but now that Chip is making trades cool again in the NFL, I’d expect at least two, and several of which to involve current players on the team, such as Brandon Boykin or Kendricks, even in a non-Mariota deal.

Sam Bradford? He’s not going anywhere in my mind. Still the most mind-boggling move in this offseason of madness, Bradford looks set to commandeer of Chips’s offense, assuming, you know, HE HAS TWO WORKING KNEES. Every time I think he can do big things in Chips system, I remember how he might not even be ready for the start of the season. Is he better than Foles? I think so. But not by much. I dislike giving up the second-rounder, but if Bradford turns out to be very good, it’s worth it.

This is a great draft for running backs, which us why I was surprised the Eagles stuck it to the Cowboys and signed DeMarco Murray. To me, I would’ve just signed Ryan Matthews, counted my lucky stars Frank Gore Changed his mind, and selected a top back in rounds two or three. Oh, and kept Jeremy Maclin too, even if he was pretty pricey. But now running back is one less positon they need to prioritize for the early rounds, until next year anyway.

Besides the Mariota dream, there’s so many positions the Eagles can target with their first rounder next week which is why I’m more excited than usual for the draft. Add in the complete uncertainly of whether Big Balls Chip will unleash more mind-warping trades and I’m almost frothing at the mouth.

I’ll be at the Eagles draft party next Thursday at the Linc. If Mariota starts to slide, I can only hope the place starts building with energy every time a team passes before finally crescendoing to a booming a MAR-E-O-TAH chant that the front office will hear across the street at NovaCare. Of course, if they select some scrub for the second straight year, it will be pretty fun watching every Eagles fans head explode in rage.

Leave a Reply

