Delayed Sixers Draft Reaction and Other General Thoughts

It’s been a month since my last post, and a ton has happened in that time. I would’ve written sooner about the Sixers draft, but due to heavy workload and vacation, just didn’t find enough time to properly share what I thought on certain matters.

I’ll have a write up coming soon about my recent baseball trip to San Francisco and Seattle (Spoiler: It was a great trip).  And by soon, I mean sometime in the next one to three months.

But let’s get to it, starting with the Sixers draft and summer league.

All year long, I thought the Sixers were going to end up with two very good young basketball players to watch on the court next season with their two lottery picks. And by all accounts, they did get two very talented players. One problem: they probably won’t take the floor this year.

I’m totally on board with the Sixers rebuilding plan and really believe in what Sam Hinkie is doing. But I won’t lie, to not get a Wiggins, Parker, Vonleh or even a Stauskus to watch next year is just disappointing.

Who knows, Joel Embiid and Dario Saric, could become the best two picks from the 2014 Draft in the future. But these two won’t play together until 2016-2017 at the earliest.

I made my point before the draft when Embiid hurt his foot, and I made it clear I wanted no part of him. Now, that I’ve had time to reflect, there’s no point in being disappointed in the pick, I mean all signs had him going No.1 to Cleveland and Jay Bilas and other experts called him the best talent. I’m not even gonna look at the injury stuff, I’m just going to keep focusing on his unlimited potential and what he can do to help bring the Sixers back to relevance. The team is in no hurry to contend, so there’s not a lot of pressure for him to hurry back and get on the court. Take all the time you need, Joel. Plus the guy’s a hell of a tweeter and an absolute must follow.

I think I just really underestimated how long of a rebuilding process this will be, and how patient Sixers fans could be.

But on the bright side. Nerlens Noel looked great in his summer league stints from what I read. And yes, it’s summer league and not a ton can be gleaned to determine future NBA success, but it’s all we have right now. Jordan McRae and KJ McDaniels, two players I know next to nothing about, also proved to be players to monitor, due to their strong efforts.

While I’ll once again be rooting for the Sixers to finish in the bottom of the standings, I think it will be fun to root to watch all these young players develop as well as hoping Hinkie can turn his abundance of cap space into acquiring a future first round pick.

LeBron’s Return to Cleveland

lbj

A stunner. I couldn’t believe it when I read Zach Lowe’s tweet at work. I thought he was joking around or something. But man, I was captivated and had a hard time focusing on work the rest of the day. Good for Cleveland and now they can stop having the NBA rig lotteries winning the top pick in the draft every year.

Even if he was the only major free agent signing, after speculation had Melo to the Lakers and Bosh to the Rockets, it is a seismic shift in the NBA landscape.

Add in Pau Gasol to the Bulls, Luol Deng to the Heat and Lance Stephenson to the Hornets, and the Eastern Conference is wildly intriguing and wide open, even if it’s still miles away from the West.

The Professional Baseball Team that Players Home Games in Citizens Bank Park

What a sad mess. It shouldn’t have come to this point, there’s so much blame at fault, and while the general manager deserves a heavy burden, it’s a total organizational failure.

They had such a good thing going for a five year period, how could they screw it up so badly?

Two weeks ago, if you gave me the choice between a Sixers summer league game, WITHOUT Nerlens on the court and a Phillies regular season game(yeah I actually mentioned their name) I would go Sixers 10 times out of 10.

I’ll try to look into this more in the future to see how it went so terrible wrong.

 Flyers Off-Season Activity

If you blinked you must have missed it, just like I did. Other than trading Scott Hartnell and his bad contract for RJ Umberger and his slightly worse contract, there hasn’t been any significant moves. Sorry RJ but I don’t think you’re the missing piece that we we’re hoping would bring the Stanley Cup back to Philly.

Thanks for the Vinny contract, Homer and let me give you a sarcastic thanks in advance for the Andrew McDonald deal. You don’t have to be a NHL cap geek to know that won’t work out well.

Really looking forward to seeing what  Ron Hextell can do to regain some cap flexibility and hopefully bring the team closer to being a top contender. Unfortunately, it’s going to take awhile.

Oh yeah and the captain of the team and face of the franchise, a certain Claude Giroux, grabbed a cop’s buttocks(best word ever) and was arrested. So there’s that too.

At least Flyers fans booed the hell out of Gary Bettman at the draft.

James Franklin is a Recruiting Machine

I’ve never followed college football recruiting this closely before, probably because Penn State has never hasn’t had recruiting success like this in a long time. While the team is probably in store for another 7-5, 8-4 season, Franklin has me extremely excited for the long-term future. And he’s from Langhorne, which makes it even better.

While it will suck missing most of the games (I’m taking off for the Oct. 25 whiteout against Ohio State, no way I’m missing that bad boy) I’m really looking forward to seeing how Franklin’s first season plays out, and if he can maintain the stability BOB left behind.

 Eagles Training Camp Begins

My Thoughts

Leave a Reply

